H-44 Task Force on Cone Beam CT

February 2019

Chairperson: Ken Hoffman (PA) 08/16 Email: <u>kehoffman@pa.gov</u>

Task Force with a finite life.

Members			Advisors	
James Lawson (ND) 04/14 Becki Harisis (NE) 04/14 Michelle Ambrose (MN) 10/16		Mary An William	* Dennis Ferguson (PA) 04/14 Mary Ann Spohrer (IL) 04/14 William Klimik (NJ) 04/14 Lenworth Williams (CT) 10/16	
Resource Individuals				
CDRH CDRH DIQUAD IAC	David Spelic Jay Vaishnav (Back-up) Joel Gray, Ph.D. Mary Lally	AAPM AAPM Benco	Bill DeForest, MS Joel Gray Jim Soroka	
Notes and Comments				
*Larry Harisis (NE) removed as an advisor.				
NOTE: If difficulty in getting resource persons, contact the following Federal Liaisons to the Board of Directors for assistance.				
CDRH	Donald Miller (3	(301) 796-3299		
EPA	Stefanie Bacon (2	(202) 343-9063		
NRC	Andrea Kock (3	(301) 415-3340		

02/11/19 - Ij

H-44 Task Force on Cone Beam CT

February 2019

Charges:

- 1. Develop and publish a "white paper" that would be helpful to radiation regulatory programs on diagnostic X-ray Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) used in dental and medical facilities, that describes the general principal of how the units work, quality control tests and shielding requirements.
- 2. Develop a protocol for state radiation control staff to use during inspections of CBCT units.
- 3. Provide written guidance on operator certification for CBCT units.
- 4. Complete the project by August 1, 2017.

Note: When a Letter/Number combination appears in brackets after a charge, it denotes how the charge links to CRCPD's Goals and Objectives, as listed in CRCPD's Strategic Plan.

If interested in serving on this working group, contact the Chairperson, at kehoffman@pa.gov